Special Education


Please Follow Us on Social Media!


Facebook   Twitter

Welcome to the Hamilton Township Special Education Web Page. The goal of the special education department is to provide diagnostic, educational and consultative services for students and families with school related disabilities. These services are conducted in assurance with Part B of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the New Jersey Administrative Code 6A: 14-1 et seq. Additionally the Child Study Team has established programs and procedures which are in effect to ensure the following:
*To the maximum extent appropriate, students with disabilities are educated in the least restrictive environment.
*Students with disabilities are included in state-wide and district-wide assessment programs, with appropriate accommodations where necessary.
*A free appropriate public education is available to all students with disabilities.
*All personnel serving students with disabilities are appropriately certified and licensed, where a license is required.
*The district will strive to provide general and special education personnel with content knowledge and collaborative skills needed to meet the unique needs of students with disabilities across the district.
*The district will ensure that students who are placed in alternate public or private schools by the Child Study Team are provided special education and related services at no cost to the parents or legal guardians.
*The compilation, maintenance, access to and confidentiality of student records are in accordance with the New Jersey Administrative Code.
*The Child Study Team will acquire and disseminate information and research to teachers, administrators, school board members and families that are appropriate for students with disabilities.

Project Child Find

Parents of Hamilton Township who are concerned that their school age child (3 years to 21 years) may have special needs can receive assistance from the local school district's Child Study Team.

    In addition, the Hamilton Township Schools are organizing a Child Find campaign to locate and provide services for children ages three to five who may have physical, cognitive, language or emotional difficulties. Information also may be obtained on how and where to receive services for children with special needs who are younger than three. 

    Professional guidance, assessment and an educational program are all available free for eligible children. For more information contact the Hamilton Township School District Child Study Team office at 476-6111.

    The Project Child Find Fact Sheet

    NJDOE Project Child Find Information

    Child Study Team (CST)

    The Hamilton Township Child Study Team is comprised of highly dedicated professionals from various disciplines whose mission is to provide services to students with special needs in preschool through grade eight. Listed below is a current directory of the Child Study Team members and related service providers. Please feel free to contact the: Hess Child Study Team at 609-476-6111, Davies/Shaner Child Study Team at 609-476-6246, or correspond with us through e-mail at your convenience.

    SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGISTS:
    Kelly Crowder - CrowderK@hamiltonschools.org Shaner School
    Andrew Disque - DisqueA@hamiltonschools.org Davies School
    ‚Äč
    Kaitlyn Cariss- CarissK@hamiltonschools.org Hess School
    Brynn Sissman- SissmanB@hamiltonschools.org Hess School

    LEARNING CONSULTANTS:
    Jessica Malloy -
    MalloyJ@hamiltonschools.org Shaner School
    Thelma Trego - TregoT@hamiltonschools.org Hess School
    Toni Riccelli - RiccelliT@hamiltonschools.org Davies School

    SCHOOL SOCIAL WORKERS:
    Ann Bucknam -
    BucknamA@hamiltonschools.org Shaner/Hess School
    Revae Burton-
    BurtonR@hamiltonschools.org Davies School

    SPEECH THERAPISTS:
    Caitlin Ponticello-
    PonticelloC@hamiltonschools.org  Hess School
    Karen Fink
    - FinkK@hamiltonschools.org Hess School
    Lindsay Laielli-
    LaielliL@hamiltonschools.org Hess School
    Anne Nelson -
    NelsonA@hamiltonschools.org Hess School
    Kelli Pinnix -
    PinnixK@hamiltonschools.org Shaner School
    Lindsay Combs -
     CombsL@hamiltonschools.org Davies School

    OCCUPATIONAL AND PHYSICAL THERAPISTS:
    Ashley Galbiati -
    GalbiatiA@hamiltonschools.org Occupational Therapist - District
    Vanessa DeCesari -   DeCesariV@hamiltonschools.org Physical Therapist - District





    Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.